Archive for December, 2005

Italy Ratified the Accession Treaty between the EU and Bulgaria and Romania

Friday, December 23rd, 2005

The Parliament of the Republic of Italy ratified the Accession Treaty between the European Union and Bulgaria and Romania signed in Luxembourg on May 25, 2005. Thus, Italy becomes the ninth EU Member State which has ratified the Accession Treaty after Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary, Greece, Cyprus, Estonia and Spain. The accession of Bulgaria and Romania on January 1, 2007 will depend on the positive report of the European Commission on Bulgaria’s accession and also on the progress of the ratification of the Accession Treaty by the rest of the EU Member States prior to that date.